Like many other social media networks, Instagram reserves the right to decide what content they will allow you to share and how they want you to interact with their online community. You can view their policy on Instagram’s terms and conditions webpage. Legally, when you sign up for Instagram, you implicitly agree that they have the right to block your content or delete your account completely at any time and for any reason.
As of January 2013, their terms and conditions page states: “We reserve the right to modify or terminate the Service or your access to the Service for any reason, without notice, at any time, and without liability to you. … If we terminate your access to the Service or you use the form detailed above to deactivate your account, your photos, comments, likes, friendships, and all other data will no longer be accessible through your account (e.g., users will not be able to navigate to your username and view your photos), but those materials and data may persist and appear within the Service (e.g., if your Content has been reshared by others).”
1) First determine if Instagram permanently deleted your account, or if they temporarily banned your access.
While there are many reasons why Instagram suddenly disables your account, the good news is that you can still unban your account if Instagram has only partially disabled it. Users may receive a warning that their photo content or the way they’re using the application goes against the terms and conditions of Instagram in this situation. Try to login from a different device, preferably your home computer, to access your Instagram account. If this step works, then the problem lies in the other device you’re trying to use with Instagram; for example, iPhone owners commonly encounter problems with Instagram that don’t appear on their primary computer. We’ll discuss what options you can try to resolve this issue in the next section of this article.
If Instagram permanently bans your account, then you can’t login to the service from any device no matter what steps you take because your account does not exist anymore. More recently, users often receive no warning before Instagram deletes their accounts permanently due to a violation of any one of their terms of service. In that case, you can only continue using Instagram by creating a whole new account and starting over with a different username although you can still use the same email address that you initially used. Previously, users could appeal their case and contact Instagram support; however, this option is no longer available on their website. For this reason, it’s imperative that you take the time to back up all of the content you post offline before uploading it to Instagram in order to save your photos and information in case you lose your account.
2) These are some steps you can take for a temporarily disabled Instagram account on your iPhone or other Apple mobile device only.
In this scenario, usually it’s your Apple ID that Instagram has banned. If other people use your mobile device before you log out of iTunes, then Instagram may flag your Apple ID and prevent you from even creating a new Instagram account with that device. To fix this problem, create a new Apple ID that’s linked to a new credit card. Back up everything that’s saved on your phone, and then reset it. Your old iTunes apps and songs are still linked to the old Apple ID, and you can’t transfer your purchased music and apps from one iTunes account into a new one directly. The best you can do is manually save these files and add them to a new iTunes library on your own. Now you can download a new Instagram app to your device and access your Instagram account again.
3) Android device users can unban their partially disabled Instagram account in a similar way.
First, back up all of the important information on your device. Next, create a new gmail account linked to a new Google Play account. Link these to a new credit card in Google Wallet. After you reset your Android device, you’ll be able to install a new Enable Instagram application that will let you access your old Instagram account again.
4) You can take a different approach to avoid resetting your iPhone if it’s “jailbroken.”
Delete the Instagram application completely from your jailbroken iPhone, including any cache related to it. Then go online and download an older version of Instagram, like version 3.1.1, and install that on your iPhone. This old application should allow you to access your old Instagram account again. After logging into Instagram again, it’s safe to update to the current version of Instagram.
Please keep in mind that your situation may differ slightly from the examples listed above, so you may need to seek additional assistance with your particular Instagram problem. The only way to post any photograph that you want without worrying about violating terms and conditions is by creating your own mobile application and building up your own network, and while this is possible, it involves much time and effort. No matter what your circumstance, remember that keeping all of your digital photographs backed up on your hard drive is the only way you won’t lose them. Don’t rely on social networks to store your stuff.